National Dairy Shrine Announces 2013 Scholarship Winners

7/20/2013 7:00 AM

DENMARK, Wis. — The National Dairy Shrine has announced the winners of their scholarships for 2013. These scholarships will be presented at the NDS Awards Banquet at the All American Dairy Show in Harrisburg, Pa., Sept. 11. National Dairy Shrine will provide more than $50,000 worth of scholarships and awards to students at their annual banquet.

The NDS student recognition program recognizes graduating seniors planning a career related to the dairy industry who have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, academic ability and a sincere interest in dairy cattle. Each university is allowed to nominate up to two candidates for this recognition in any given year. The highest winner receives a $2,000 award, the second receives a $1,500 award and the other winners receive $1,000 awards.

The Kildee Graduate Studies Scholarship winner is Carissa Doody, Union Bridge, Md. She is attending Virginia Tech and has held numerous leadership roles while at college. She has plans to get a master’s degree in the public health program of the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine.

Hayley Potts, Purcellville, Va., has been awarded the National Dairy Shrine/DMI Milk Marketing Top Scholarship of $1,500. Potts is a food science and technology major at Virginia Tech. She has served as president of the Virginia Junior Holstein Association and has been active in the dairy club and the Institute of Food Technologists.

Roxanne Seltzer, Selinsgrove, Pa., has been awarded the National Dairy Shrine/DMI Milk Marketing Scholarship of $1,000. Seltzer is pursuing dairy science and communications majors at Virginia Tech.

Mikayla Conrad, New Holland, Ohio, receives the Maurice Core Scholarship for $1,000. Conrad is a freshman and attending Wilmington College.

Leah Caverly, Clinton, Maine, is awarded the Iager Scholarship for $1,000. Caverly is attending the Thompson School of Applied Science at the University of New Hampshire and is majoring in dairy management.

<\!q>Hannah Bachman, Ulysses, Pa.; Emilie Strand, Ithaca, N.Y.; and Mary Elizabeth Foote of Hartford, N.Y., have been named this year’s Klussendorf Association Scholarship winners. These $1,500 scholarships are awarded by the Klussendorf Association.

Austin Schwartzbeck, Union Bridge, Md., is awarded the McKown Scholarship of $1,500 in honor of Robert “Whitey” McKown, a longtime supporter of the Holstein breed and national dairy cattle shows.

For more information about the students being recognized by National Dairy Shrine or tickets for the awards banquet, contact Executive Director David Selner at info<\@> Information on the National Dairy Shrine can be found at

Do the deer cause a lot of damage to the fruit and vegetable crops in your area?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Unsure

User Submitted Photos

View photos      Submit your photos

  Ag Markets at Lancaster Farming

2/6/2016 | Last Updated: 7:45 PM