London Olympics: quirky opening will be broadcast by NBC

 

Horses will join a cast of 10,000 to present what is expected to be a quirky vision of Britain when London's Olympic Games open Friday night.

But they won't be the horses that will entrance fans later in dressage, jumping and eventing competition. These 12 horses will be part of the meadow scene of 70 sheep, 10 chickens and nine geese who will introduce millions of spectators to the opening night entertainment.

The competitive horses of the national teams from around the world will be tucked away in their stalls at Greenwich Park, where the equestrian events will take place over the following days.

Among them are the Team U.S.A. horses that include one belonging to Presidential candidate Mitt Romney and his wife Ann Romney, who are in London for the opening.

Team USA teams are:

Eventing

Will Coleman, Gordonsville, Va.

Tiana Coudray, Ojai, Calif.

Phillip Dutton, West Grove, Pa.

Boyd Martin, Cochranville, Pa.

Karen O'Connor, Ocala, Fla.

Jumping

Rich Fellers, Wilsonville, Ore.

McLain Ward, Brewster, N.Y.

Reed Kessler, Armonk, N.Y.

Beezie Madden, Cazenovia, N.Y.

Dressage

Steffen Peters, San Diego, Calif.

Janel Ebeling, Moorpark, Calif.

Tina Konyot, Palm City, Fla.

Adrienne Lyle, Ketchum, Idaho

Equestrain events will be broadcast in the U.S. by NBC and its various networks:

Fri July 27

NBC: Opening Ceremony, 7:30 p.m.-midnight

Sat July 28

NBC Sports Network: Eventing dressage

Sun July 29

NBC Sports Network: Eventing dressage

Mon July 30

NBC Sports Network: Eventing cross country

Tue July 31

NBC Sports Network: Eventing, Team Jumping gold medal final (live); Individual jumping final (live)

Wed Aug 1

No equestrian events scheduled

Thu Aug 2

MSNBC: Dressage qualifying, 9 a.m.-6 p.m.

Fri Aug 3

MSNBC: Dressage qualifying; Badminton

NBC Sports Network: Jumping qualifying round

Sun Aug 5

NBC: Team Jumping gold medal final, Round 1, 6 a.m.-6 p.m.

Mon Aug 6

NBC: Team Jumping gold medal final

Tue Aug 7

NBC Sports Network: Team dressage gold medal final (live)

Wed Aug 8

NBC: Individual jumping gold medal final

Thu Aug 9

MSNBC: Individual dressage gold medal final (live)

Fri Aug 10

No equestrian events scheduled

Sat Aug 11

No equestrian events scheduled

Sun Aug 12

No equestrian events scheduled

NBC: Closing Ceremony, 7 p.m.-10:38 p.m.